top of page
Search

Conclusions

In this assignment, the research itself informed the next step. Mistakes in filming and editing led me to discover other effects and areas to continue to explore, and learning-by- experimenting with Premiere Pro as well as rendering, exporting, uploading sequences was a large part of this process. I am just as the beginning of working with this visual medium and I find it intriguing to explore how I can physicalize the visual, using it to expose what is inside, what something is made of, what is not seen. I also want to continue researching how I can subvert the dominance of visual symmetry, unity, coherence and fluidity within the medium of film, partly because it seems to be the general tendency, and also because I find it often misrepresents what we see, creating distance from the physical body. I could continue to re-film my "Filmed Film x 3" to see what else emerges or submerges, trying out still more surfaces, exposures and effects. I could then experiment with rendering and exporting the films in different qualities. In the time between distractions or interruptions, I will continue to try these things out.

I do realize now, however, that the still images of the re-filmed film on wood are imprinted in me. They are burnt on my retina and are therefore inside of me. I have embodied these images - not the moving film so much as the singular, still frames. What that does to my body and my physical practice, my memories and remembering senses will further influence my research. The images have become part of my embodied knowledge, an example of internal memory and external film simultaneously.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

FILMING 3X ON WOOD

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZmnobY1CRck After editing the first film with images of words being written and wiped off my chest, mirrored and added to images of the rope wrapped around my arm, on t

HOW EDITING CLIPS RELATES TO MY RESEARCH

The motions I make in picking up and throwing away have become automatic, however I never get used to the amount of time it requires of me. In my personal life as in my creative work, the work is neve

bottom of page